Dr. Joseph A. Whelan Elementary School

1440 Mineral Spring Avenue, North Providence, RI 02904
Phone: (401) 233-1180  |  Fax: (401) 353-1465

Principal: Mrs. Amanda Donovan 

                          Quick Links
     

Staff Directory

Please note that all teachers have an email address as follows: 

first.lastname@npsd.k12.ri.us

Principal
Amanda Donovan 

Secretary
Christine Shabo 

christine.shabo@npsd.k12.ri.us 

School Nurse
Lucille Polisena  
Lucille.Polisena@npsd.k12.ri.us

Kindergarten

Mrs. Michelle Refino: 
michelle.refino@npsd.k12.ri.us

Mrs. Gabrielle Silva   

gabrielle.silva@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Grade 1

Mrs. Cheril Smith

cheril.smith@npsd.k12.ri.us   

Mrs. Catherine Mariorenzi 

catherine.mariorenzi@npsd.k12.ri.us                           

Grade 2

Mrs. Kaila Alger (Kittell)
kaila.alger@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Mrs. Stephanie Voccio
stephanie.voccio@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Grade 3

Ms. Susan Coughlin
susan.coughlin@npsd.k12.ri.us

Mrs. Nina Szumita
nina.szumita@npsd.k12.ri.us

Grade 4 

Mrs. Donna Canario
Gr. 4 HR/Science/Math
donna.canario@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Mr. Kevin Geremia
Gr. 4 HR/Social Studies/ELA
kevin.geremia@npsd.k12.ri.us

Grade 5

Mrs. Vanessa Puccio
Gr. 5 HR/Science/Math
vanessa.puccio@npsd.k12.ri.us

Mrs. Jamie Dilorenzo
Gr. 5 HR/Social Studies/ELA
jamie.dilorenzo@npsd.k12.ri.us  

Special Education
Ms. Tina Trovato
tina.trovato@npsd.k12.ri.us

Resource Teachers

Miss Cristina Grasso
cristina.grasso@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Ms. Joanne Lynch 

joanne.lynch@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Mrs. Tonia Malloy 

tonia.malloy@npsd.k12.ri.us

 

Reading Specialist
Mrs. Dana Gambardella 
dana.gambardella@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Mrs. Tanya Deanseris

tanya.deanseris@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Speech Pathologist
Mrs. Lisa Lopes 

lisa.lopes@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Occupational Therapist
Ms. Joelle Servello 

joelle.servello@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Unified Arts
PE/Health Mr. Gerald Rubino
gerald.rubino@npsd.k12.ri.us

Art
Ms. Kim Celona
kim.celona@npsd.k12.ri.us

Mrs. Amy Tucker

amy.tucker@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Music

Deirdre Donovan

deirdre.donovan@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Library
Mrs. Jodi Graziano

jodi.graziano@npsd.k12.ri.us 

 

Support Staff

School Psychologist

School Social Worker

 Cathryn Vasconcelos 

cathryn.vasconcelos@npsd.k12.ri.us 

Teacher Assistants
 Marcia Leonardo, Suzanne Marcaccio, Angelique Mucci & Annmarie Levin